close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Stories Under the Night Sky

2019-06-21 14:00:00 2019-06-21 15:00:00 America/Chicago Stories Under the Night Sky Internationally known storyteller Fran Stallings tells myths, legends, and night stories from all over the world accompanied by stunning, planetarium projected constellations. Newcastle

Friday, June 21
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-21 14:00:00 2019-06-21 15:00:00 America/Chicago Stories Under the Night Sky Internationally known storyteller Fran Stallings tells myths, legends, and night stories from all over the world accompanied by stunning, planetarium projected constellations. Newcastle

Newcastle

Ballroom

Internationally known storyteller Fran Stallings tells myths, legends, and night stories from all over the world accompanied by stunning, planetarium projected constellations.

Love, betrayal, monsters, vengeance! Long before 3D and Netflix, our ancestors told hair-raising tales of the heroes whom they immortalized in the constellations that wheel over our heads at night. Come hear the stories and learn to spot those star patterns when the Sun sets.

What’s in it for you? . . .  

  •  You will hear stories about the stars which have been told since ancient times.
  •  You will have a planetarium experience at the library.
  •  You will have heard a world-renowned storytelling professional.

Fran Stallings is an American storyteller for people of all ages. She has performed at national and international storytelling festivals, in schools and libraries, and on the radio. She performs primarily folktales from around the world. She has produced several audio recordings and books of stories.  She conducts workshops, residencies, and festival performances throughout the United States and overseas. Stallings's storytelling style is noted for its ability to entrance listeners, a phenomenon she wrote about for The National Storytelling Journal.

Summer Learning at Pioneer is possible with the support of Oklahoma Department of Libraries, Institute of Museum and Library Services, Hitachi Computer Products of America, The Anne & Henry Zarrow Foundation, Sonic, America’s Drive-In, Pioneer Library System Foundation, and the Friends of the Libraries.

Newcastle

mc@pioneerlibrarysystem.org
Phone: 405-387-5076
Fax: 405-387-5204
Branch Manager:
Phil Clark

Hours
Mon, Jul 22 9:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Jul 23 9:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Jul 24 9:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Jul 25 9:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Jul 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 27 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jul 28 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Upcoming events

Tue, Jul 23, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, Jul 24, 10:00am - 10:45am

Wed, Jul 24, 11:00am - 11:40am

Fri, Jul 26, 10:00am - 11:00am
Ballroom

Fri, Jul 26, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Ballroom
This event is full

Mon, Jul 29, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Ballroom

Wed, Jul 31, 10:00am - 10:45am

Wed, Jul 31, 11:00am - 11:40am

Sat, Aug 03, 10:30am - 11:30am
Conference Room

Tue, Aug 06, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Aug 07, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Aug 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 08, 10:00am - 11:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 12:30pm - 1:30pm

Sat, Aug 10, 10:30am - 12:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Aug 13, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Aug 14, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Aug 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 15, 10:00am - 11:00am

Tue, Aug 20, 9:00am - 10:00am
Ballroom

Tue, Aug 20, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Aug 21, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Aug 21, 11:00am - 11:30am